Shop for your favorite fan gear at Fanatics!

A brief history of Golden Meadow
Golden Meadow was incorporated on July 17, 1950. According to research by David Bernard, it took four tries by the Bayou Women's Club before Gov. Earl Long signed the act of incorporaton. The club selected Alexie Plaisance, a banker and businessman, to serve as the first mayor until elections could be held two years later. The club also appointed the first Board of Aldermen, consisting of Freddie Collins, Mrs. Joe Leonard Sr., Victor Theriot and Hubert Lafont Sr. The first election was held April 8, 1952. Plaisance won the mayor's race with 76 percent of the vote. The town hall, on La. 1 near the center of town, was built at a cost of $30,000. It was dedicated on Feb. 28, 1952, and still serves the town.

Mayors of Golden Meadow
Joey Bouziga1999-
Leonard Miller1999*
Jervis B. Autin1980-1999
Kenneth "Kip" Plaisance1968-1980
Gilbert Cheramie1964-1968
Jack Egle1960-1964
Alexie Plaisance1950-1960
* = interim

This site works best with Netscape

© 2001 by Eddie "Bush" Bernard